Internship · 2026
UT Austin Applied Research Laboratories Apprenticeship
A laboratory R&D apprenticeship in Austin for the summer between high school and college. Complete a real project, technical report and judged presentation with scientists and engineers. The last verified cycle is 2026.
Next action
Latest cycle completed
The linked official application and flyer describe the completed 2026 cycle. No 2027 announcement is verified; do not reuse its cutoff or compensation as 2027 terms.
Requirements before the deadline
Explicitly supports high-school participants. Graduating high school senior entering a 4-year college or university in the upcoming fall semester
No structured prerequisite list has been verified; consult the organizer’s full eligibility and submission rules.
Research in practice
Your internship plan
Texas access has conditions
Texas graduating seniors may qualify if admitted to UT Austin with the required STEM-major plans and able to attend in Austin full time. The overview mentions preference, but the requirements and 2026 packet explicitly require UT admission.
- School year
- Graduating high-school senior before entering college; must have applied and been admitted to UT Austin. Source ↗ · Sep 30, 2026
- Age at entry
- Not stated in the reviewed evidence
- Citizenship / work eligibility
- U.S. citizen.
- Residency & commuting
- Austin full-time attendance; no other-state high-school restriction stated.
- Duration
- Historical 2026: June 4–August 14. No verified 2027 interval.
- Weekly commitment
- Historical 2026: 40 hours/week, Monday–Friday 8 a.m.–5 p.m.; unpaid time off only for freshman college orientation. Source ↗ · Sep 30, 2026
- Housing
- Not stated in the reviewed evidence
- Meals
- Not stated in the reviewed evidence
- Prior experience
- Interest and skills in engineering, CS, geophysics, mathematics or physics. Skills inventory says none of the listed skills is required for employment.
- Independent research
- Each apprentice completes a summer-long project; topic assignment and unrestricted independent-project permission are not stated. Source ↗ · Sep 30, 2026
- 1
Historical 2026: completed 16-page application questionnaire, employment form and skills inventory.
- 2
Resume.
Source ↗ - 3
Original high-school transcript sent by the school registrar; allow mailing time.
Source ↗ - 4
Optional SAT/ACT scores if not already on transcript.
Source ↗ - 5
Questionnaire includes technical experience, career goals and a less-than-500-word AI/ML task-redesign response.
- 1
Check graduation, citizenship, UT admission and intended-major requirements.
- 2
Submit complete application/resume by official instructions; registrar sends original transcript.
- 3
Competitive selection; interview sequence and offer dates not stated.
- 4
Full-time summer project, seminars and laboratory activities.
- 5
Technical report and judged presentation; small recognition prizes do not establish scholarship funding.
A stipend does not establish that housing, travel, or meals are covered. Selection and mentor matching may be separate steps.
Edition timeline
Historical 2026 application deadline
Mar 10, 2026
Evidence and source
Application must be received at Applied Research Labs by March 10, 2026.
View source ↗Historical 2026 apprenticeship
Jun 4, 2026 – Aug 14, 2026
Costs and participation
- Compensation / stipend
- Historical 2026 official flyer: full-time paid positions at $20+ per hour. Future rates not announced. Source ↗
Participation modes
In person
Only reviewed costs are shown. Omitted items are not a promise of free participation; confirm current fees and attendance obligations before committing.
What participation can lead to
- — Technical report combined with other apprentice reports for distribution to sponsors and university/government stakeholders.
- — Judged project presentation and possible small cash recognition prizes, not guaranteed peer-reviewed publication.